“I’ll say I love you when you’re not listening…” aka The power of music.

Sometimes it’s actually hard to find the words that convey what I want to say. It’s not that I don’t know what to say, or even that I don’t know how to say it. It’s just that I can’t. In some cases, I don’t want to even let the thoughts come to the surface. I think that is why music has always meant so much to me. For as long as I can remember, whether it is a lyric or a melody, music could carry the emotion that I was feeling in a way that my words never could.

In the depths of denial, a song can force me to think about something that I am trying so hard to push from my mind. I know exactly what is going on; yet, I refuse to acknowledge it. There is a part of me that is afraid that if I give any literal voice to this thought, well, then I might give it life, give it some hope, when I know that there is none. That might crush me. Yet, I seem to be content to torture myself by listening to entire playlists that drag my feelings out of the shadows and into the light.

Here is a song for when you want someone, who you are pretty sure you know does not want you back. For that person who just isn’t on the same page that you are on.

Christina Perry is great live, BTW.   (sorry about the commercial)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

