Words = Power

Words can be used to destroy you. When putting them down in a way that can be archived and used later against you, you take a risk. When you put them on the Internet, they are there for the taking, for anyone, anywhere. They exist forever. They are discoverable from a legal perspective, so professionally, you have so much to lose. Personally, people can find out that you have not trusted them, that you have been keeping them at a distance, when they may have trusted you. Some don’t take well to that, and you don’t know who those people are until it it is too late. I learned that long time ago. Maybe I’m a slow learner.

My words are here in this blog, and I take the risk. I have taken a risk by verbalizing some thoughts that otherwise I wouldn’t have to people who think that I trust them implicitly. I have taken precautions, but I have also taken some big risks. I risk both my personal and professional life. Even if I don’t take the kinds of risks outlined above, I do still worry about other risks, even if I shouldn’t.

Vulnerability is defined as:

the quality or state of being exposed to the possibility of being attacked or harmed, either physically or emotionally.

Interestingly, one of the definitions of “love” via the Urban Dictionary is “giving someone the power to destroy you, and trusting them not to.” I think that is a more apt definition of “vulnerability,” but whatever. I have given very few that power, but still that power exists. I realize that every day I am more willing to become more exposed and to give that power away.

Shocking, I know. Imagine how I feel.

-S

*I know, you should see some of the entries. I should have gone to Wikipedia. hahahaha.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

